Wk6-Artist Conversation-Blaine Scot Prow

Exhibit Information:

Artist: Blaine Scot Prow

Exhibition: Extrusions

Media: Bristol paper, foam core board, transfer paper, charcoal paper

Gallery: CSULB School of Art,  Maxine Merlino Gallery

Website: TBH

Instagram: Tiffuits

This is Blaine’s final year here at Cal State Long Beach. He is a Studio Arts major with an emphasis in Graphic design. Growing up, he lived in many different cities in Orange County. In high school he loved math and designing cars. When it came to math, he loved geometry in particular because of how simple and clean it was. He actually thought he wanted to work with mechanics, but chose art instead.

As I was observing the gallery, I was fascinated by how visually appealing the displays were. The simplicity of the black and white geometric shapes almost put me in a trance. After looking at each piece, I noticed that the black 2-dimensional figure had a white 3-dimensional figure placed on top of it.

After reading his bio, I later learned that Blaine wanted to really emphasize that 3d figures aren’t always made up it’s 2d counterpart. The example he used was the creation of a cube. Even though a cube is compiled of squares, a cross is used to actually construct the cube with paper. This simple yet complex form of constructing geometric shapes was something that I found really interesting.

Personally, I am not a big fan of math as I dreaded it in high school. But with Blaine’s interpretation on his experiences with it, I was able to for the first time in my life enjoy geometry. I was able to see that things that seem so simple and clear-cut, might in fact be complex. And that not only goes for shapes, but in fact many other things as well.

Author:

Currently majoring in Food Science at Cal State University, Long Beach. I love to cook many different dishes, hike, and watch movies on Netflix. Lived in LA my whole life, but I was born in Nigeria. Hope you enjoy my site! :)

Leave a Reply

