Wk11-Artist Conversation-Kyle Kruse

Artist: Kyle Kruse

Exhibition: Janus Maxim

Media: Wood, film, sculpture, fabric
Gallery: Marylyn Werby Gallery

Website: kylekruseart.com

Instagram: kyle.kruse

Kyle is completing his final year here at Cal State Long Beach with a BFA in Printmaking. He started as a Physics major but once he switched over, he felt like he learned more as an art major. After graduation, he wants to move to the United Kingdom or New York and maybe get an MFA in Visual Anthropology. On his spare time, he loves to rock climb and listen to podcasts.

When I first walked inside the room, I noticed it was very dark and the floor was a bit muddy and slippery. I turned to the right to see 3 wooden frame carvings on the wall and 3 wooden carved masks placed right in front of them. I turned to the left and I see 3 screens playing videos about the different masks.

Kyle wanted to create an exhibit that uses different senses to interpret the exhibit. By doing this, it would be easier for more and more people to interpret it i their own way. Kyle wanted to add many different ancient Roman and Greek myths because it was something he always saw in school.

I thought this was a very interesting exhibit to say the least. I loved how it was very dark and mysterious. I loved how he incorporated not only the carvings, but also the videos and the wet sand on the floor. Having all those different elements made it easier to not only feel something, but to interpret it in my own way.

Author:

Currently majoring in Food Science at Cal State University, Long Beach. I love to cook many different dishes, hike, and watch movies on Netflix. Lived in LA my whole life, but I was born in Nigeria. Hope you enjoy my site! :)

Leave a Reply

